Telelearning Session 6: Students and the Social Economy

How do students become engaged in studies related to the Social Economy? What support do they require? How do they access information and resources? How do they make the transition from researchers to practitioners, or vice versa? Do student researchers at social economy organizations view their work as simple employment, or as training for their future careers, or... both? To explore the answers to these questions and more, Janel Smith of the Social Economy Student Network will be facilitating this stimulating telelearning session, featuring Ian MacPherson, co-director of CSEHub and professor emeritus at the University of Victoria, and Lena Soots, graduate student at Simon Fraser University.

TELELEARNING SESSION PODCAST Click on the link below to listen to the telelearning session. MP3 9.7 MB If you would like to rebroadcast this session, please contact secoord at uvic dot ca for the extra-large, high-quality recording.

Call Logistics:

  • Session Date: Thursday February 14, 2008
  • Call begins at 9:30 am PST, 10:30 am MST, 11:30 am CST, 12:30 pm EST, 1:30 pm AST, and 2 pm NST
  • Call in information will be given upon registration
  • Register before February 12 to obtain dial in information and background papers
  • This session is in English; the next session will be in French

Session Format: 1 Hour Welcome: 5 min Presentations: 10 min by each speaker Discussion: 35 minutes Registration: By Email or by Phone Register by e-mailing with your name, location, and work or volunteer position. To register by phone call 1-250-472-5338. Limited number of phone lines for session – so register soon! Background readings:

Thu, 02/14/2008